Kairu90’s Mini Mini Post

February 23, 2010 at 2:39 pm 5 comments

I was thinking of moving my blog over to paid web hosting so I can have more freedom with my blogging theme as well as being able to do what I want with my site without WordPress restrictions.

I need some feedback before I make a move like this.

  • How will I move all my posts and files to my new blog? Does the built in import and export .xml files have ALL that information contained?
  • Does paid hosting give you the freedom of running a blog however you want and could I simply use my wordpress admin panel for everything?
  • What is a good hosting service that is fairly cheap and will not give me issues with server downtime and bad connection to server?

Please leave me a few comments for some feedback I am very interested in doing this but do not want to lose my information/hits/posts.

Entry filed under: Site. Tags: .

New Camera =3 Site Construction

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Orange  |  February 23, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    1. If your total combined post data does not exceed 2 MB, then you can export them out. Otherwise, you’ll have to export the database. I don’t know if this is still the case, but it was like this on WordPress 2.7. And I think linked images are downloaded to the new server when the .xml file is imported.

    2. If you just want to maintain a WordPress blog, then paid hosting will allow you to have complete control over it. For the most part you can stay within the WP admin panel. You’ll only need to leave the panel when setting up the site and possibly when you want to add themes and plugins.

    3. I don’t have any recommendations unfortunately. =/

    If you have any more questions, feel free to ask.

    Reply
    • 2. Kairu  |  February 23, 2010 at 4:07 pm

      Thank you so much for your help =3 I think I found a good web host. its called Host Gator, I chose it because I know a few people who have used it and also it allows Adult Content (Just in case I feel like posting some =P)

      I am at the order screen now….but still weary…XD

      Reply
  • 3. Orange  |  February 23, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Actually, as a small edit, I think it’s possible to get around the 2 MB limit, but it might just be easier to copy the entire database. The problem is, does WordPress.com offer that option…

    Reply
    • 4. Ripaz  |  February 23, 2010 at 5:13 pm

      Yea better copy entire DB, otherwise something might end up not working or missing. Just remember to copy images/videos you uploaded on host and transfer them on your new host, otherwise many images will not show.

      And wanted to warn you about allowable of adult content (it’s nice to have it just in case) but I see you already tough about that =P

      Reply
      • 5. Kairu  |  February 23, 2010 at 5:35 pm

        Under my current hosting with WordPress can I copy the DB? I do not even think I have access to it since my site is a free wordpress.com site with a domain attached.

        And trust me I did make sure about the adult content >.< I would love to have the option if I so choose =3

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Archive

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Banner Exchange

Shops

Blog Stats

  • 263,980 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

